Lights Out

When everybody on the east coast was losing power we were no exception, although ours was only out for an hour. Josh always wakes up during late night power outages. I think because it is too quiet and calm. It’s kind of eerie. He is usually a little scared and dazed. it also doesn’t help when some very inconsiderate neighbors decided to set off fireworks at one in the morning.  I keep a flashlight next to my bed for these types of emergencies and Joshua just so happens to have a turtle that lights up with stars. I was trying to come up with something to relax him when I suddenly remembered what I would do if I were still a child. First, we turned off the flashlight and counted the stars that the turtle was projecting onto the ceiling. (as you can tell my camera is always near.)

Joshua loves his turtle and apparently the light are even cooler up close.

Next, we told scary stories with the flashlight under our faces. Okay, I really recited Goodnight Moon and Roar of a Snore. They are two of his favorite books, so naturally they are two of many children’s books that I have memorized. After that we roared like dinosaurs and laughed at how silly we looked.

We finished our dark night off by making shadow puppets. I was extremely surprised to find that my beautiful son was totally into this.

Ten minutes in the lights came on and Josh was able to snuggle in and go right back to sleep.

Our blackout ended up being so much fun. Hopefully Josh will never forget it.

Leave a Reply

